Thread: Vanguard VGX Deluxe ?

Default Vanguard VGX Deluxe ?

I have a 300 Weatherby Vanguard Made in Japan w/ serial# VX31XXX. Beautiful wood bought from gun dealer used? around mid to late 80's. What can you tell me about age, twist rate of barrel, etc. Looks to have had action bedded. I recently had barrel floated,Timney 3pos. safety trigger installed set at 3lb. 12oz.and Limbsaver recoil pad. Am starting w/Nosler 125 gr. Ballistic tips to get used to the recoil. W/limbsaver pad its like a 243! Would appreaceate any info. that anyone could tell me about this as well as suggested wts. for larger game that would shoot best w/this twist rate! Thank you for your time as I am new to lloading for longer range.

Default Re: Vanguard VGX Deluxe ?

Great rifle and action is smooth! I have one in 25-06 and also one that I custom barreled and stocked in 6mmbr. Love em both.

Some one can correct me if I am wrong, but I would guess it is a 1 in 10 twist. So I would look into larger bullets especially for longer shots. My self I would not load smaller than a 168 and I would prefer a 180, 190 or a 210. For shots out to 500 yrds I would load a 190 or 210 Berger.

Jeff
    Lucky ...Is when Preparation and Opportunity Come Together

"Vegetarians are cool. All I eat are vegetarians - except for the occasional mountain lion steak." - Ted Nugent

Have some Barnes 180gr. MRX boattail .308's to try. Have never loaded Barnes copper bullets before and was worried about copper fouling. Would running Moly paste on a patch before firing for the first few rounds help reduce fouling? Have been told MRX bulets have a Silvex (denser than lead) core w/Delrin tip, 180's are supposed to compare to equal 210 gr. lead core. Will try larger bullets with this 1 in 10 twist barrel.